Number 6 Reads Fairy Tales

Children? Children? Where are the children in The Village? I’m not sure how I feel about finding out there is a nursery in the village.

VIllageNursery

But I was totally delighted when I saw Number 6 reading fairy tales to the little ones on one of the tapes I had procured on a recent visit. As we all  know The Village keeps meticulous records.  There were a total of 17 video tapes in all. They each came with a title and a detailed account of what was on the tape. I was intrigued by the title of tape #16, “Once Upon A Time“, but was disappointed upon finding no fairy tales- only one more desperate dark attempt by Number 2 to extract INFORMATION from Number 6 by using some sort of a regressive therapy technique, directing a series of psychodramas in an “Embryo Room” where they go through the different stages of Number Six’s life hoping to extract why he resigned. Surprise, Surprise…. Number 6 thwarts Number 2’s fiendish efforts and reveals nothing of importance in the end.

Village_StoryBookThen I popped in tape 15, “The Girl Who Was Death“. And there… in the last two minutes of the tape was dear Number 6 reading fairy tales to the village children from the village story book. Although I had easily hacked my way in to watching the videos in Dr. M’s screening room, due to an elaborate encryption of the tapes, I have thus far been unable to download them in a digital version which I can easily share with the rest of the family.  But you know that’s not going to stop this ol’ lady.  My creative problem solving skills kicked into high gear and I used my iPhone to record the scene playing on the TV. Then I used the Photo Transfer App to transfer the video to my iMac where I could more easily work with it- like capturing a frame that showed an image of the village story book.

Using the Grab tool my first attempt at capturing the image resulted in the player bar being visible. Not good.

VillageStoryBook

I tried again, this time capturing a larger section of the screen around the video player window. Much better… Showing my “prisoner” folder under the video player image was an accident that I really loved! It tells more of my process story by seeing how I’m working. (Ya’ gotta love that serendipity thing.)PrisonerVillageStoryBook

Next I used iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe to convert the slightly less versatile older .mov format to .mp4 so I could post it to YouTube and people who still used those buggy PC’s (as opposed to a wonderful iMac like mine) could watch it without problems. I realized after it was too late that I had forgotten to trim the end that showed the credits. I didn’t want those. Yippee! I didn’t have to delete the already uploaded video, I could use the “enhancements” option on YouTube to split and trim my video right there in place. No need to upload anything new.

See for yourself how wonderful Number Six is with the village children.  He’s promised to come back tomorrow night to read them another. Perhaps Cousin Ron can sneak him a copy of “The Little Butterfly and the Old House“. Or one of the Burgeron family can locate The Village Story Book and bring it back to the Bovine County Fairy Tale festival. What other stories might be in there?

3 thoughts on “Number 6 Reads Fairy Tales

  1. Hey, Nana Lou,

    Can you please clarify? When you say “I have thus far been able to download them in a digital version which I can easily share with the rest of the family” did you intend to say “I have thus far been UNable to download them in a digital version which I can easily share with the rest of the family” ? Because you then go on to relate capturing the vid with your phone.

    I am please that you have documented this little snippet, as this particular aberration (children within the Village) is only present in this one episode, to my knowledge.

    Like

    • Wow. That’s some attention to detail you have @prisoner106. I did indeed mean to say UNable. Thanks to your keen eye I’ve fixed that little error.

      Like

  2. Well, at least the nursery is next to “The Place of Fun!” I haven’t seen this episode yet, so didn’t realize there were any children in the Village either. Interesting to hear that they’re only present in that episode.

    Like

Leave a comment