Freytag’s Dramatic arC

Listening to Cousin Froid ( gosh it is hard to type this spelling) tell the story of how Clogs came to be, I was reminded of the dramatic arc in stories. I could not remember where I saw it just that it was a video, that the guy’s first name was Paul, and that it was about storytelling. The Google obliged eventually.

So what is really interesting to me is the distress part and how it is necessary to help focus our attention on the story. Something dramatic has to happen or we just go ‘meh’ and the story falls flat. I need to review my Tango butterfly story, as it does not have enough drama in it. I need to have her fall and break a wing or something. Anyway family, I thought I would post this in case it is of use to others crafting stories this week.

Leave a comment