Sappho’s Designs

DS106: Capture/Screenshot a scene from an episode of a TV show or a movie and try to make a poster for that episode or movie. Try to make it cool! Be creative!

Here is my gif from the opening and repeated scenes of ‘The Prisoner’. I used Free Video Cutter to make the gif.

I entitled this gif “Where am I?”

imageedit__8344490468

Here are some of the comments I received on G+ for this gif.

Kathy Onarheim

Jul 19, 2015
 It is Awesome!

Nana Lou

 Jul 19, 2015
 Very nice dear. I like the effect you’ve got there of going around-and-around.  Although for those of us with motion sickness issues, I’m feeling awfully dizzy.

janet webster

 Jul 19, 2015
 Yes, very dizzying. Wasn’t exactly what I was going for, but I’ll take what I can get on my first try.

Nana Lou

 Jul 19, 2015
 I have to say you did a great job on this +janet webster .  It looks like something +John Johnston would’ve made.  A smooth GIF that tells a story in more ways than one.  Bravo!

Ronald L

 Jul 19, 2015
 Bravo! Well made.
I kinda recognize the fast style of Mariana’s gifs too in it.

janet webster

 Jul 19, 2015
  Not necessarily intentional 😉

Ronald L

 Jul 19, 2015
 Well that’s how it works, you get influenced without knowing it.

Mariana Funes

Jul 19, 2015

 Cool! Glad you found a way. It is a lovely one. Make sure you add the tags for the assignment when you do your post so you get credit units! +janet webster

Ronald L

 Jul 20, 2015
  What’s this with credit units?

John Johnston

 Jul 20, 2015
 +Nana Lou thank for the compliment. This looks a bit deeper than me:-) I see the repetitive nature of the series, resign and be dammed again and again. nice stuff.
 __________________________________________________________________________________________
 snap01
Still inspired by the above gif made by John Johnston, I took the still images from my  own gif’s clip captured from John Johnston’s blog and made a book-cover or poster for ‘The Prisoner’ series. I wanted to keep the monochromatic scheme of the typewriter and photo still of #6 with the XXXXXXXXXXX across his face. The word ‘Resigned’ is a key word in the themes presented in this series, so I used it as a title instead of “The Prisoner”.
The floating head  (a la John the Baptist) is somewhat unnerving, but I wanted to give that sense in my composition. I also like to build in ambiguity to my compositions.
I don’t have a lot of time to devote to these assignments, and I usually do them late at night, so I look for quick and easy technical solutions to my creative ideas.
resigned

1 thought on “Sappho’s Designs

Leave a comment