Resilience – 5 Card Flickr Poetry

Being a scientist by training, poetry hasn’t always come easy to ol’ Nana Lou.  Thanks to our week one #burgeron106 assignment I’ve had an opportunity this week to practice with a 5 Card Flickr story. I’ve seen others grapple with this assignment in the past. And it was nice to know I wasn’t alone right here in the family. Mama Boo shared her struggles and story with the rest of us which inspired me to give it a go.

You are dealt five random photos for each draw, and your task is to select one each time to add to your building set of images, that taken together as a final set of 5 – tell a story in pictures. I modified this a bit by telling the story created by the photos in the form of a poem. I find this helps me to get out of my logical mind (what I still have left after a 100 years…) and come from a deeper more intuitive place.  I even chose the pictures based on my intuition. When finished it just feels right.

If there is one thing about ol’ Nana that’s that I’m resilient.

http://5card.cogdogblog.com//show.php?id=35116

Image Attribution: Tom Woodward (Photos 1,3, 4, 5), Serena Epstein: Photo 2

RESILIENCE

A promise of beauty, love and eternal life

Stainglass Window
A reality that includes death and decay

Decaying door
Don’t despair. Recover, Rebuild, make new again

Rebuilding
The tree of life invites you to open the gate

TreeOfLifeGate
Where Spring brings a refreshed promise of new life: emerging, unfolding

SpringUnfolding Eternally beginning again

 

2 thoughts on “Resilience – 5 Card Flickr Poetry

  1. Wow, Nana, this is really nice. The story here is inspiring and, I think, universal. Week 1 of our computer classes sure has been productive so far!

    Interesting that you got so many photos by T Woodward in your draws! Guess he’s got a lot of photos with ds106 tags on Flickr?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

